Apply for the CIVITAS Awards 2021: Europe’s leading sustainable urban mobility prizes

Awards PageELEVATE

CIVITAS Awards banner

The call for applications has been launched for the CIVITAS Awards 2021. CIVITAS cities are invited to apply for the chance to win one of Europe's most prestigious sustainable urban mobility prizes. 

The CIVITAS Awards provide a unique platform for cities to demonstrate their achievements and their pioneering sustainable urban mobility activities. 

This year, applications are welcome for the following awards: 

  • The "CIVITAS Legacy" Award will recognise a city that has translated its commitment to the CIVITAS network and sustainable mobility into high-impact, innovative measures.
  • The "CIVITAS Transformation" Award will recognise a city that has used mobility measures to transform itself to be smarter and more liveable.
  • The "CIVITAS Climate-Neutral" Award will recognise a CIVITAS city that is a pioneer when it comes to decarbonisation measures, and is on the right path to becoming a climate-neutral city.

The deadline for applications is 27 August 2021! 

Who can apply?

All cities that have signed the CIVITAS City Declaration (and are thus members of the CIVITAS Network) are eligible to apply for the CIVITAS Awards. In case your city is not yet a CIVITAS city, please sign the CIVITAS City Declaration

Please note that only applications from cities that have been members of the CIVITAS Network for at least 4 years will be considered for the Legacy Award. 

Cities may submit no more than one application per award category. Last year’s CIVITAS Awards 2020 winners are not eligible to apply again to the same category in which they won. 

Why apply?

All Award finalists will enjoy Europe-wide exposure and serve as inspiration for other cities working to forge greener mobility.

Furthermore, winners will be publicly recognised as ambitious, innovative, and successful in their implementation of sustainable urban mobility solutions.

The Awards provide a prime platform for towns and cities to demonstrate their excellence in the field, both in terms of policymaking and implemented measures, whilst also having their efforts recognised by the European Commission.

Winners serve as role models to other towns and cities across Europe, inspiring them in their own initiatives to make cleaner and better urban transport.

Sounds great – what are the next steps?

Please apply by submitting completed application forms to forum [at] civitas [dot] eu with the subject line “Application for CIVITAS Awards 2021” by the 27 August deadline.

Applications are available to download at the following links:

The decision of the CIVITAS Awards Jury is expected in the second half of September, and the winners will be announced during the Award Ceremony at the CIVITAS Forum Conference 2021, which will be a hybrid event held online and in Aachen, Germany.  

For inquiries, please contact the CIVITAS Awards 2021 organisers at forum [at] civitas [dot] eu.  

Author: INOVA+


.eu web awards
European Mobility Week
Smart Cities Marketplace
EU Logo

Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of CINEA. Neither the European Union nor CINEA can be held responsible for them.

This website is hosted by an environmentally-friendly server provider.