Apply now for the Transformation Award 2022!

Awards PageELEVATE

Painted urban wall with the text: "Apply now to win the CIVITAS Transformation Award 2022!"

Applications are now being accepted for the CIVITAS Transformation Award! Apply by 8 July 2022.

The Transformation Award recognises CIVITAS cities that have used of an integrated set of mobility measures to make their community a smarter and more liveable place for all.

Since the award was established in 2016, Transformation Award winners have included Krakow (Poland), Murcia (Spain), Banja Luka (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Bremen (Germany) and, most recently, Aachen (Germany). Aachen’s win in 2021 was in recognition of the fact that, from just 2020-2021, the city transformed 4.2 km of cycling routes, built 1076 bicycle racks, built 150 new e-vehicle charging stations, introduced the first hydrogen garbage trucks in Germany, and increased the capacity of its Mobility and Planning Department.

Does this kind of transformation sound like your city? Then you could be the next winner! Any cities and municipalities that have signed the CIVITAS City Declaration can apply now.

The winning city will receive a trophy, presented on stage at the Urban Mobility Days 2022, and will be invited to share a short speech. A dedicated webpage on the CIVITAS website and a press release will give the winning city a place on the CIVITAS Initiative “wall of fame”. Furthermore, high-level politicians representing all three of the finalist cities will be showcased on stage at the Urban Mobility Days 2022, recognising their cities’ commitments to cleaner, more sustainable mobility. In addition, finalists will be invited to produce short videos that will be shown at the conference and disseminated by the CIVITAS Initiative.

The CIVITAS Transformation Award winner will be selected by a high-level jury.

Key dates in the application process include:

8 July 2022 - deadline to submit applications
9 August 2022 - candidates told whether they are among the three finalists
5 September 2022 - deadline for finalists to submit videos
12 September 2022 - finalists announced publicly
20 September 2022 - announcement of winner at CIVITAS Awards Ceremony 2022

To learn more and to apply see the official call for applications.

Authors: Adrienne Kotler, Laura Schubert



.eu web awards
European Mobility Week
Smart Cities Marketplace
EU Logo

Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of CINEA. Neither the European Union nor CINEA can be held responsible for them.

This website is hosted by an environmentally-friendly server provider.