CIVITAS Initiative

The CIVITAS Secretariat invites CIVITAS Forum cities to enter the 14th Edition of the CIVITAS Awards competition. 

On behalf of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE), the CIVITAS Initiative for cleaner and sustainable urban transport would like to invite your city to apply for the 14th annual CIVITAS Awards competition.

The Awards recognise outstanding efforts in CIVITAS’s mission of achieving a decisive modal shift toward sustainable urban mobility

This year the Award ceremony will take place in Gdynia, Poland, on the 29th September 2016. This prestigious event is expected to attract around 350 participants, namely the Vice President for Energy Union Maros Sefcovic and the  Director of Innovative and Sustainable Mobility at European commission, Magda Kopczynska. In addition, EU Member States officials, Mayors of cities from throughout Europe and beyond, media, transport academics and urban mobility experts are expected to take part in the event.

Through the Awards, the best examples of policy making and action are showcased and promoted to the press. This inspires other cities and provides role models for further development in the field.

The CIVITAS Awards competition is open to all cities that have signed the CIVITAS Declaration and are a member of the CIVITAS Forum Network. If your city is not a Forum member yet, please complete and sign the CIVITAS Forum Declaration.

The Awards incorporate three categories:

  • Technical Innovation;
  • Public Participation;
  • The CIVITAS City of the Year.
  • The CIVITAS Transformations Awards – New category of the 2016 Edition!


Application forms for the four categories are available at the main CIVITAS AWARDS page

Please send your application form via e-mail at the following address, with “CIVITAS Award Category ” placed within the subject of your message: forum [dot] contributions [at] civitas [dot] eu ()

Detailed information regarding the rules is available at the CIVITAS Award page.


The deadline for submitting application(s)  is extended until 15th of July 2016



For inquiries please contact secretariat [at] civitas [dot] eu  

.eu web awards
European Mobility Week
Smart Cities Marketplace
EU Logo

Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of CINEA. Neither the European Union nor CINEA can be held responsible for them.

This website is hosted by an environmentally-friendly server provider.