Back to Top

European Commission announces nominees for sustainable mobility awards

Author: Richard Adams
Posted on: Friday, March 6, 2020 - 10:55

The finalists of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards, the Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP Award) and the first EU Urban Road Safety Award were revealed at the end of February. All recognise activities conducted in 2019.

The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards showcase local authorities making a significant effort to promote sustainable urban mobility during the campaign week; the SUMP Award recognises excellence in sustainable urban mobility planning; and the Road Safety Award celebrates outstanding road safety measures.

The annual theme for all awards was safe walking and cycling.


The finalists for the award for larger municipalities are:

  • Kruševac (Serbia);
  • Rethymno (Greece);
  • Wrocław (Poland).

The jury was impressed by:

  • Kruševac’s wide programme of activities, underpinned by strong citizen participation, which saw the redesign of public spaces, removal of parking places, and the creation of urban parks;
  • Rethymno’s use of communication activities to engage local residents in discussions on air quality, renewable energy and road safety;
  • Wrocław’s strong focus on the week’s theme of safe walking and cycling, which was promoted through engaging and informative events.

The finalists for the award for smaller municipalities (less than 50 000 inhabitants) are:

  • Alfândega da Fé (Portugal);
  • Karditsa (Greece);
  • Paide (Estonia).

The jury was impressed by:

  • Alfândega da Fé’s diverse and comprehensive activities, making streets more accessible to pedestrians and cyclists;
  • Karditsa’s use of promotional materials and partnerships to support sustainable mobility;
  • Paide’s use of local communication channels and involvement of local politicians.

8th SUMP Award

The finalists for the sustainable urban mobility planning award are:

  • Brussels (Belgium);
  • Kaunas (Lithuania);
  • Wrocław (Poland).

The jury was impressed by:

  • Brussels’ policy-driven vision, which is built upon impressive citizen participation, stakeholder outreach, and an understanding of the city as an ecosystem;
  • Kaunas’ well thought out and progressive approach to sustainable mobility planning, recognising the role of enforcement in making the plan a reality;
  • Wrocław’s integrated, holistic, and innovative approach to sustainable mobility planning, which is bolstered by strong neighbourhood planning and citizen engagement.

EU Urban Road Safety Award

In addition, for the first time, the Urban Road Safety Award celebrates outstanding and innovative achievements by local authorities in the area of road safety.

The finalists are:

  • Jaworzno (Poland);
  • Ordu (Turkey);
  • Pontevedra (Spain).

The jury praised in particular:

  • Jaworzno’s action to reduce speed limits, increase the number of public transport users, and involve local residents in the design of renovated streets;
  • Ordu’s courageous decision to pedestrianise the busiest parts of the city, remove heavy car traffic from the city centre, and create new bicycle routes;
  • Pontevedra’s effective and sustained reduction in the number of road fatalities and injuries, its clear monitoring strategy, and its focus on active mobility, such as walking and cycling.

All shortlisted cities were selected by an independent panel of mobility and transport experts, and the four winners will be announced at a ceremony in Brussels (Belgium) on 30 March 2020.

Find out more information on the various juries here.

News Search

Latest Events

Living in the city without a car and travelling sustainably in an easy and accessible way? Cities ca...
22/04/2020 to 24/04/2020
*** Due to the ongoing public health crisis, this CIVITAS study visit has been postponed until furth...
18/05/2020 to 20/05/2020
Szeged is a pioneering city in Hungary with regards to mobility management. The city is also the Nat...
01/06/2020 to 02/06/2020
*** Due to the ongoing public health crisis across Europe and beyond, this event has been provisiona...