Back to Top

CIVITAS Awards 2020 call extended – apply by 8 September!

Author: Richard Adams
Posted on: Wednesday, September 2, 2020 - 17:18

The CIVITAS Awards 2020 call has been extended – cities can now apply for the Awards until Tuesday 8 September!

Towns and cities are invited to apply for the CIVITAS Awards – the prizes that highlight some of the most ambitious, innovative, and successful sustainable urban mobility work currently being carried out.

The year 2020 will be remembered for many reasons; not least, it has been a year of radical change in the area of mobility. The COVID-19 pandemic has completely transformed the way people live and travel and, consequently, many cities have had to adapt their mobility systems quickly to keep their people moving safely.

The 2020 CIVITAS Resilience Award will recognise those cities that have rapidly and successfully adapted in response to the pandemic, demonstrating exceptional resilience.

The award has been split into two categories, one for larger municipalities with over 100,000 inhabitants and one for smaller municipalities with less than 100,000 inhabitants. Winners will enjoy Europe-wide visibility and serve as role models to other towns and cities.

Additionally, cities can apply for the “CIVITAS Legacy” award, which will reward a city that has translated its commitment to the CIVITAS network and sustainable mobility into high-impact, innovative measures.

Award winners enjoy a wide variety of benefits:

  • A custom certificate signed by the European Commission recognising their city’s commitment to cleaner, more sustainable public transport;
  • A Dedicated section on the CIVITAS website, promotional material and receive pan-European media coverage via a press release written about the winners for the winners;
  • An invitation to speak at Urban Mobility Days 2020 in a dedicated Awards session;
  • Short videos will be produced showcasing finalists' mobility achievements.

The new extended deadline for applications is Tuesday 8 September. Apply via an online application form for the Resilience Awards here and for the Legacy Award here.

All cities that have signed the CIVITAS Declaration and are members of the CIVITAS Forum Network are eligible to apply for both awards. In case your town is not yet a Forum member, please complete and sign the CIVITAS Forum Declaration.

The winners will be announced during Urban Mobility Days 2020.

For full details on the CIVITAS Awards, visit their dedicated page. Should you have queries, contact

News Search

Latest Events

01/06/2021 to 05/06/2021
After an inspiring Velo-city conference in Dublin (Ireland), Lisbon (Portugal) will be the host of V...
16/06/2021 to 18/06/2021
More than ever, the goal of achieving sustainable transport modes putting users first and providing...